Tackling Racism Workshop: Intercultural Competence and Achieving Equity in our Schools and Universities

Date:

  • Option 1: 11 November 2020, 10:00–12:30 (CET) | 17:00–19:30 (SST) | 20:00–22:30 (AEST)
  • Option 2: 12 November 2020, 16:00–18:30 (CET) | 10:00–12:30 (EST)

Location: Virtual

Intercultural competence is the ability to adapt mindsets when navigating diversity and differences. It is vital for developing the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions for recognizing and countering implicit biases and racism in our institutions.

In this interactive workshop, you will join your peers from international schools and universities to collaborate and build your understanding of intercultural competence and its role in tackling racism and creating equity.

You and your institution will be in a better position to address the challenges faced by non-dominant racial and cultural groups, and the resulting bias and discrimination, by developing the behaviours and understanding at the core of intercultural competence.

Learning outcomes:

  • Understand intercultural competence as a concept and as a process.

  • Understand how intercultural competence assists in navigating diversity and differences towards achieving equitable schools and universities.
  • Understand what occurs when we encounter diversity and differences.
  • Apply strategies to develop intercultural competence.

Note: We are running this workshop twice—on 11 and 12 November—so that you can choose one of the time/date options to best suit your time zone. 

This new workshop is part of a series to help you tackle racism in your schools and universities.
 

Registration deadline: 4 November 2020
Fee: €200 (excluding VAT)

If your institution is considering membership and interested in this event, please email globalcitizenship@cois.org.